23. Van Morrison – Astral Weeks

Astral Weeks – I had forgotten just how folky this album was, but the first track does a good job of reminding me. Meandering flute lines, shimmering strings, a lead guitar line that just kind of noodles away in the background all in compound time. Van’s voice sounding the best it ever has, right up until he follows the strings in ascending to heavens as the song ends.

Beside You – almost Spanish sounding guitar runs to start I think that’s a vibraphone too, and more flute. This is almost jazz, a bit ambient, just kind of floating ethereally as VM promises how he’ll be beside you. While this is in simple time, there’s lots of offbeat stuff happening to make it difficult to actually count the 4 in the bar. Elvis Costello apparently rates this as one of his favourite songs. I don’t.

Sweet Thing – I think this is the first drums we’ve had on the album. Musically this echoes the opener quite a bit. Lyrically, it is quite clearly about Van trying to get his end away. Its another love song. I quite like it.

Cyprus Avenue – There’s just not enough harpsichord in songs. I love how understated the music is, the flute just kind of does its own thing in the background, while the strings are a subtle counterpoint to the vocal line. The harpsichord almost seems out of place, but equally if it weren’t there this wouldn’t work so well. All built around 3 chords and a cracking bass line which is turned way up in the mix. Actual chills at the ‘oh lord’ bit.

The Way Young Lovers Do – this seems so out of place. It’s all a wee bit shambolic, none more so than the bass playing – so tight and impressive on the last song, quite frankly it’s fucking atrocious here. It’s like a pastiche of a rat pack Vegas song. I’m sure some like it but I don’t.

Here’s a good Vegas pastiche

Madame George – that’s more like it. Back to being understated. Self referencing (down on Cyprus avenue), percussion adding to the lyrics to help paint a beautiful picture. The cello is gorgeous and I could listen to this all day. Once again a lovely flute line which adds an air of whimsicality, which is then picked up and expanded by the viola. The shimmering strings from the opener return too. The whole arrangement here is amazing. This could be a Tom Waits song. In fact, I’d love to hear him do a version. Tim Buckley would also do this well. Definite highlight of the album.

Ballerina – well, it’s really just lovely, isn’t it? Heavy on vibraphone, and a fluttering classical guitar. Easily the best vocal on the album. Van Morrison actually sounds a lot like Mick Jagger, but with more of ability to hold a tune, whereas Mick gets by on his charisma a lot more. What this album does well is take a lot of disparate musical parts and bring them together into one cohesive song. This song is another good example of that.

Slim Slow Slider – following my Jagger analogy a moment ago, this reminds me of Wild Horses. It’s nowhere near as good though. Always struck me as an odd choice for the album closer. Lyrically it’s a tale of a girl dying (very much hints at drugs). I do love the soprano sax part, which is beautiful, but overall the song is another miss for me.


Highlight: Madame George is the clear standout

Lowlight: The Way Young Lovers Do

Thoughts: Van Morrison has always been hit or miss for me. This album reminds me of some chefs I worked with when I was a wee lad, so it’s tied to good memories, but that’s not enough for me to recommend it as essential listening. It’s probably 20 years anyway since I last heard it, and will be the same again before I listen to the full album from start to finish again.

Rating: 8 songs, I like 5 of them… 6.5 out of 10 is fair


Share your thoughts?